Texas Fishing Forum

Must haves in the tackle box

Posted By: Boxmaker

Must haves in the tackle box - 02/21/14 03:23 AM

I am a newbie, wanna be crappie catcher. I have loads of tackle for striper fishing on Texoma. However, for crappie, I only have a few jigs, one light spinning reel, some 6lb line, and a lot of want to. So, what are the "must haves" a guy on Texoma needs in his tackle box? Not looking for a list of everything that one might want, just a list of "gotta haves". Thanks in advance.
Posted By: jiggin el

Re: Must haves in the tackle box - 02/21/14 03:36 AM

These worked well for me the other day ...
Posted By: Bobcat1

Re: Must haves in the tackle box - 02/21/14 04:04 AM

Those Halo Magic are awesome. Matthew aka Jigum also ties a pink/chart/Chart that's good too thumb. Lake Fork Tackle in Chartreuse Ice are good. In fall orange Rocky Tops are deadly. I had a guy named Bentley tie me up some Orange head, White crystal antron body and Chartreuse feather tail that worked well in winter back up in the west end. Of course there are many varieties that work. The key is finding the fish. White and chartreuse Rocky tops are my all time favorite.
Posted By: moonriver

Re: Must haves in the tackle box - 02/21/14 04:06 AM

Good question, you will see lots, lots recommendations. Open wide, i do mean your wallet. grin
Posted By: Mckinneycrappiecatcher

Re: Must haves in the tackle box - 02/21/14 04:11 AM

I always had great luck on blue ice or purple mist baby shad bobby garlands, purple is always good on that lake due to the purple hue on the baitfish. I've also had good luck on brown/orange in past years. Haven't been in a year though but I used to kill em every winter and spring on these colors. Of course don't forget black/chart white/chart are must haves in every tackle box. 1/8 and 1/16 oz jig heads.

Re: Must haves in the tackle box - 02/21/14 04:35 AM

Thanks guys. Keep em coming. Taking lots of notes and learning all I can.
Posted By: crope1