Texas Fishing Forum

Attacking the Fall Brawl

Posted By: Laner

Attacking the Fall Brawl - 08/31/20 08:14 PM

Attacking the Fall Brawl

The longer I fish for a living, the more I love the fall. Thick backs and heavy sacks not only makes my “job” as guide a lot more fun, but it also creates a great opportunity for new anglers to get excited about fishing. Although we get calls for striper, catfish and white bass, a majority of the people we will take out over the next few months will want big crappie, and a lot of them. I know Mother Nature will call an audible at the line from time to time, but aside from her sometimes random behavior, below is my game plan for how I intend to attack the fall brawl.

***Please understand that these are simply observations from my time guiding. If you see different patterns or have had different experiences on your home lake, adjust as needed.

Early Fall = Transition (water temps ranging from low 90s – low 80s)

From now until early October, there will be periods of both joy and frustration. I’ve seen it every year since my start in 2010, and although 2020 has been, well… you know, I still think the fish will act as they have always acted over the years. We will have an early push of good numbers up to depths that we will see them at throughout most of the fall. Lots and lots of what I call “fryers” will light up the graphs and are typically willing to cooperate. These 10-12” crappie are a lot of fun and fry up really well, but they aren’t the true giants the fall is so well known for. The bigger fish seem to be lagging behind in the deeper waters and aren’t quite as excited about putting out much energy for a meal.