Texas Fishing Forum

Livescope Not Working Right

Posted By: flogORfish

Livescope Not Working Right - 08/22/20 11:58 PM

So my new Lviescope appears to be having issues. I think it was calibrated at the factory for Crappie @ 9 15/16"!

Seriously, I love it, but it seems all I can find are shorts. Fishing Ray Bob mostly and have been in timber N of Jordan, Corp brush pile and one day up north towards 922 bridge, but not all the way to it. I found lots of fish with it that I would have not fished the same nor caught before getting the LS. I know many are singing the praises of it and talking about how it changes the way you fish. I couldn't agree more.

What blows my mind the most - seeing the bite - before feeling anything - is absolutely mind blowing. Because I was on shorts all day I was watching them gang up on the minnow and you could tell they were, like throwing fish food to goldfish. Couldn't feel it. Now I had a 1/16 lead 3" above the hook so arguable there was some slack. But that's not the point. Without LS, I'd have never known there were 'interested' fish. I would have moved on. Seeing exactly where to put your bait...So Cool!
Posted By: Minner Bucket

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/23/20 01:02 AM

Man I’m really wanting a livescope. The more I read, the more problems I hear about with them, ghost tree and hard bottom issues. But, most people only post negatives and not all the positives!
Posted By: lurenthewind

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/23/20 02:42 AM

Catching 'em right now is tough. Even if you can find them. I have not had any problems with my Livescope so far (about 1 year). I just did the latest Software Update and have not been back on the water yet, so looking forward to seeing if it made it better.

Livescope does two things that are important to me: 1. You no longer spend time fishing where there are no fish. 2. You see how different bait presentations make them react.

Livescope will not make the fish bite. It also shsows you just how many fish there are in the lake, that is a big number.

Sometimes you can catch them sometimes you can't. Odds are pretty good you will catch more with Livescope than without. That's especially important if the amount of time you have to spend fishing is limited.

Wayne
Posted By: flogORfish

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/23/20 02:51 AM

Ironically, I don't get to fish as much as I'd like. And like most know, when you don't, unless they are really biting, I spend a lot of time looking/guessing. What I believe, already, 3x using it, is that I can have more successful trips. The side benefit, is family/kids catching more too. My kids are older, but like me, they want to catch when they go and I think we will now, for sure.

It's a lot of money for the system. I paired it with a 1022. Truly, the only negative for me so far, is a mount that I like. I've built one out of fiberglass and pvc and it's not bad. I have two transducers on it, my Humminbird SI/DI below and behind the LS32. Different frequencies so they are working fine, though I'm not using the SI/DI like I thought I might. I've got an Xi5 and just don't want to deal with cable on the motor and it pointing all over the place when in anchor/spot lock mode. Functionally, mine is like the one from Fishfindermounts in that it telescopes and rotates, being held in place by a pin. It's ok, but long term I think I want something a little more rigid.

I just need to find bigger fish now wink
Posted By: David Welcher

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/23/20 12:17 PM

We went to Ray Bob yesterday and simply wacked em caught some really nice ones ended up with 47 by noon between the three of us, [Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
then a buddy called and said to meet him at the ramp and he’d give us his crappie, he only had 24, he fished the brush piles and we fished the timber
Posted By: David Welcher

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/23/20 12:24 PM

Originally Posted by Minner Bucket
Man I’m really wanting a livescope. The more I read, the more problems I hear about with them, ghost tree and hard bottom issues. But, most people only post negatives and not all the positives!

My buddy got his last October and it took us a little to figure it out, but I simply don’t even want to go fish in my boat, we’re able to find those trees we used to kill em on 20 years ago that are now all below the surface, I’ve bought all my mounting brackets, gonna buy one soon.
Posted By: flogORfish

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/23/20 12:45 PM

David,

So....it's just me smile Glad to see you smacked them...again! I'm planning on going this afternoon with my son, so maybe we'll find some bigger ones this time!
Posted By: lurenthewind

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/24/20 03:27 AM

I have a Helix 10 at the console and Livescope on the front. I have a Helix 9 that I am not using that only has GPS and 2D. I think I will put it up front just for the Maps.

Wayne
Posted By: flogORfish

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/24/20 03:06 PM

Lurenthewind, that's pretty much what my Helix is doing up front. I'm not using it at all for imaging since I go the LS. But, it's networked and I can mark at the console some spots in an area and the go up front and check them out more closely with the LS.
Posted By: RiverBanks

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/27/20 02:41 PM

It put us on some nice ones yesterday, ranging from 11-15 inches. Two brush piles within 20 feet of each other, one was loaded with small crappie, the other one was loaded with large crappie.

.
Posted By: flogORfish

Re: Livescope Not Working Right - 08/27/20 04:01 PM

I should be back on the water tomorrow evening to give it another shot. I did catch a couple good 'uns last time out, had a 15 and one just over 16, 2..08 lbs. We still aren't catching numbers, probably staying on a good looking tree too long.
© 2021 Texas Fishing Forum