Texas Fishing Forum

Crappie nibbles?

Posted By: John A.

Crappie nibbles? - 08/04/20 11:25 PM

As I've mentioned in some previous posts, I'm a crappie fishing novice. I've had some luck fishing brush with jigs.

I read some posts about crappie nibbles helping with a tough bite. My question is, does color matter? Do you match your nibble with the general color of your jig head or body or do you use the same color regardless?

Thanks so much!
Posted By: HOGON

Re: Crappie nibbles? - 08/04/20 11:37 PM

Color of the nibbles really does not matter in my opinion. I have one that is half chartreuse and half pink.

I do use nibbles occasionally, but prefer to dip the tail of my jig in Chartreuse Spike it right before I start fishing.

Most jigs I fish with have a chartreuse tail already.

It will last all day.

I prefer the bottle with the big opening up top versus the pens and sprays.

Be careful with it because if you get it on you or spill it in your boat you will smell like pizza all day.

It works great and fish love it.

Welcome to Crappie Fishing. fish
Posted By: Osbornfishing

Re: Crappie nibbles? - 08/05/20 12:26 AM

I have fished with a jig on several occasions without a bite. Then started catching fish immediately when adding nibbles. I have had the best luck with chartreuse but white also works well.
Posted By: Drycreek3189

Re: Crappie nibbles? - 08/05/20 01:01 AM

Originally Posted by HOGON
Color of the nibbles really does not matter in my opinion. I have one that is half chartreuse and half pink.

I do use nibbles occasionally, but prefer to dip the tail of my jig in Chartreuse Spike it right before I start fishing.

Most jigs I fish with have a chartreuse tail already.

It will last all day.

I prefer the bottle with the big opening up top versus the pens and sprays.

Be careful with it because if you get it on you or spill it in your boat you will smell like pizza all day.

It works great and fish love it.

Welcome to Crappie Fishing. fish