Texas Fishing Forum

Crappie and a little slice of heaven....

Posted By: Okie Poke

Crappie and a little slice of heaven.... - 05/06/20 01:51 PM

I've never seen a pond like this reproduce crappie in such an abundance. Why? I don't have a clue....it's a 15-acre tank in AR, 40ft deep, that is behind our retirement home (home in background). Old house but we are fixing it up and will be living there in 3 years. Back to the pond....I've been fishing this tank for almost 30 years. During crappie spawn, you can walk the dam and catch anywhere from 50-100 nice, big black and white slabs by noon. Only people that fish it are family. It's always been that way, but the bass growth are stunted. I guess the lake needs threadfin shad. It has a great population of perch and crappie and a bunch of little bass, that's about it. There are two amura in there that keep it pretty clean. I've never cattfished it, so don't know about that. There are a few big bass in there but not many. We need a fisheries biologist to help manage, probably. Waiting for my son to graduate with biology degree and he says that he can do it. We'll see. We can reap the crappie while we're waiting, I guess. Me and BIL caught these in an hour & a half the other day.

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Posted By: ACES82

Re: Crappie and a little slice of heaven.... - 05/06/20 02:06 PM

Beautiful land buddy! Nice slabs to!
Posted By: Minner Bucket

Re: Crappie and a little slice of heaven.... - 05/06/20 02:39 PM

Beautiful place Okie! cheers
Posted By: pop r

Re: Crappie and a little slice of heaven.... - 05/06/20 02:50 PM

Awesome place with plenty of fish. Love it! cheers
Posted By: cellis

Re: Crappie and a little slice of heaven.... - 05/06/20 03:09 PM

Originally Posted by Minner Bucket

Agreed
Posted By: Tiltman

Re: Crappie and a little slice of heaven.... - 05/06/20 03:40 PM

those blue gill are massive
Posted By: BCBassCat

Re: Crappie and a little slice of heaven.... - 05/06/20 04:51 PM