Texas Fishing Forum

Winter crappie transition

Posted By: junbengreat

Winter crappie transition - 01/09/19 03:15 AM

I was on a great crappie bite this summer and early fall. I figured out a pattern and wore them out. I’m still a crappie beginner and trying to learn the ropes. What structure do you guys key in to catch winter crappie? I checked out a few spots that have produced for me this summer but no bites. Not sure if the cold weather or rain scattered them or both. Any advice is appreciated
Posted By: Joe Slab

Re: Winter crappie transition - 01/09/19 03:24 AM

This time of year their out in deep open water following shad schools. Find the bait balls and drift jigs under the bait.
Posted By: SK.

Re: Winter crappie transition - 01/09/19 03:34 PM

I agree with finding the bait but don't rule out the bait being shallow....
What i'm dealing with now is the fish are really not relating to structure and that makes it hard to target crappie but yes find the bait and fish at the depth they are or just below.....
Spidering has definitely worked best for me as of late....
Posted By: RiverBanks

Re: Winter crappie transition - 01/20/19 07:14 PM

Originally Posted by SK.
I agree with finding the bait but don't rule out the bait being shallow....
What i'm dealing with now is the fish are really not relating to structure and that makes it hard to target crappie but yes find the bait and fish at the depth they are or just below.....
Spidering has definitely worked best for me as of late....
=

Spider rigging was going to be my suggestion. Use your finder to locate bait balls and starting depths. Then use spider rigging with 6-8 rods to pin them down as to best depth and locations.. Once you locate them fish for them using the method you prefer if you don't like spider rigging.