Texas Fishing Forum

Beaver Lake, AR / Brush Piles

Posted By: RickyBobby4

Beaver Lake, AR / Brush Piles - 01/24/18 06:38 PM

Hey yall, I'm a college student in Arkansas (Texas native though), and I'm looking to drop some brush on Beaver Lake in Fayetteville, Arkansas. I've never made or dropped brush before, but I feel like its a fairy simple concept. Ill be making my piles out of a 5-gallon bucket, some quickcrete, and 2x4's. I want to make 3-4 and drop them fairly soon so they can get a healthy population by the springtime. Im really looking for advice on where to drop brush. I know that you want to attract bait, have them relatively close to deep water, and most importantly, drop them vertically haha. But in all seriousness, if you have experience with making brush, dropping brush, or have some info on the Beaver Lake slabs you'd be interested in sharing, I would really appreciate it. Thanks guys (and gals), happy hunting.
Posted By: Ken Gaby

Re: Beaver Lake, AR / Brush Piles - 01/24/18 08:45 PM

Only been to Beaver Lake once and we were racing boats back then. Long winding lake with lots of deep clear water so fish will be hanging a little deeper than in slightly stained water. I'd look in the upper reaches for water that is not crystal clear. If that's not an option, then drop stuff in 20-25 FOW. And if you can get natural brush/timber off the bank, I'd use that and sink with those 5 gal buckets of crete. Couple buckets will sink a fairly large tree top. Green stuff sinks easier but I don't like a lot of leaves as they catch silt and will compact/sink the limbs.
Good luck.
Posted By: Mckinneycrappiecatcher

Re: Beaver Lake, AR / Brush Piles - 01/25/18 03:55 AM

Very deep and clear lake, not a whole lot of clear water in the white river chain. My guess is the fish will be in 8-20’ even in the spawn. The steeper the shoreline the better, and I’d hazard to say it’ll be May before there is really a shallow bite.
Posted By: Duck_Jerky