Texas Fishing Forum

Bob Sandlin Crappie

Posted By: Allen Bass Fisher

Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/02/17 06:53 PM

I'm new to the Crappie Fourm but a long time "Bass" and "OT" contributor. I recently retired and want to get into Crappie fishing. I have a place on Sandlin and my wife wants to to catch some fish to "release to the grease" and not just release (Bass). I know they are there just not sure where "there" is.

Any help would be appreciated. Have a boat and tackle just not much knowledge.

Thanks!
Posted By: MrRoachie

Re: Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/02/17 08:29 PM

You got side scan?

Check around the park at the dam and I across the lake in 15-20' for brush piles.

Years ago the lake record came from the pier at the state park.

I'd be willing to drive up if you wanna go some day.

P.S. Pepop whooped my hiney on Palestine today with his jigs.

I highly recommend his handtiedcrappiejigs.com
Posted By: 184Champion

Re: Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/03/17 01:11 AM

First time on the lake last April and we found them on bridge pilings. Only fished for them one afternoon.
Posted By: pawj

Re: Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/03/17 01:23 AM

I've BEEN TRYING TO ADD PICTURE WITHOUT SUCESS. Picture is only 2.5 mb ,but is large on post screen
Posted By: MrRoachie

Re: Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/03/17 01:47 AM

Originally Posted By: pawj
I've BEEN TRYING TO ADD PICTURE WITHOUT SUCESS. Picture is only 2.5 mb ,but is large on post screen

Text picture to someone and have them send it back.

I do this with all the pictures I take and want to post.
Posted By: Txmedic033

Re: Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/03/17 03:46 AM

If you are looking for a fish fry that lake is also well stocked with eater sized blue cats and magnum sand bass.

Re: Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/03/17 06:21 PM

MrRoachie,

I do have a side scan and am planning on starting searching for brush piles the next time I'm out at the lake. Thanks for the tip.
Posted By: Gilly62

Re: Bob Sandlin Crappie - 12/04/17 02:55 PM