Texas Fishing Forum

Duck hunting a lake

Posted By: dk2429

Duck hunting a lake - 01/24/20 07:58 PM

Not sure where this needs to go, so I'm just putting it here..

Are there any of you that duck hunt the lakes that you fish? I'm relatively new to duck hunting and have been hunting the coast from Galveston (I'm 15 mins from) down to Port O' Connor.

Next season my goal is to try and hunt a freshwater lake like Livingston or Rayburn for wood ducks/mallards

What's the rule on hunting lakes? I've been told there are only certain areas you can hunt. Livingston would be the closest bet for me if anyone is familiar with hunting this lake... I've never even seen people hunting freshwater lakes before, never really paid attention to it.

What's the input? Break it down in newbie terms for me grin
Posted By: senko9S

Re: Duck hunting a lake - 01/24/20 08:15 PM

thf topic offtopic
Posted By: Txduckhunter

Re: Duck hunting a lake - 01/24/20 08:21 PM

In before rthe forum police get you...
Call the governing entity of the lake you are wanting to hunt Corp, SRA, NRA, WMA's all have different rules.
Posted By: ReelSlow

Re: Duck hunting a lake - 01/24/20 08:26 PM

North end of Eagle Mountain Lake is awesome duck hunting. Launch at South Wise County Park and your inthe sticks
Posted By: H2O Seeker

Re: Duck hunting a lake - 01/24/20 08:34 PM

Originally Posted by Txduckhunter
In before rthe forum police get you...
Call the governing entity of the lake you are wanting to hunt Corp, SRA, NRA, WMA's all have different rules.

^^This^^ & this> TPWD Duck Regs. Also call the Game Warden in the county you are looking to hunt in to double check everything. Finding a local/regional DU chapter can be helpful too.
Posted By: Duck_Hunter

Re: Duck hunting a lake - 01/24/20 08:50 PM