Texas Fishing Forum

Kayak Fly Fishing

Posted By: Scottybdiving

Kayak Fly Fishing - 09/10/17 06:21 PM

Are there any kayak fly fishers on the Kayak forum? I have been flyfishing for a few years, but I just bought my first kayak. I will be taking it to the San Juan River in New Mexico next month but I would like to get comfortable with it before I go. I live in the Austin area and would like to get some ideas about fishing locations, flys, methods, etc.
Posted By: Brad R

Re: Kayak Fly Fishing - 09/10/17 07:57 PM

I bet a few will pop up. It seems I have seen a few posts regarding fly fishing with kayaks. I've seen several on the water. One was an angler on Wheeler Branch a few years ago, but others too.

What did you buy, what make and model? It is popular enough that Jackson Kayak has one model made specifically for fly fishing. And, Diablo is another popular platform . . . very stable.

Your New Mexico trip sounds great!

Brad
Posted By: FWBanger

Re: Kayak Fly Fishing - 09/10/17 09:55 PM

I fly fish from my kayak frequently. The biggest problem is that your fly line will tangle on everything on your kayak. Limiting items on your kayak will help with this problem. I generally break out the fly rod when nothing else is biting and target sunfish but I have caught black bass, sand bass and catfish with it.
Posted By: RexW

Re: Kayak Fly Fishing - 09/11/17 02:21 AM

I do it, but I am not in the Austin area. As mentioned, learning how to control the line to avoid tangles is important and not always easy to do. Head over to Zilker park or anywhere else you can get on the water and chase sunfish and bass to get comfortable casting and controlling the kayak.
Posted By: Jim Ford

Re: Kayak Fly Fishing - 09/11/17 01:26 PM