Texas Fishing Forum

New Kayaker: what do you wear?

Posted By: ConchoAdam

New Kayaker: what do you wear? - 08/14/15 01:28 AM

I'm new to the kayaking scene and am wondering what you guys wear? When it's hot? When it's cold? Raining? To protect your face? I'm hoping to fish all year round but obviously the cold weather on the water is a concern.

I hope to post more questions through out the forum so TIA for the help.
Posted By: Tallgrass05

Re: New Kayaker: what do you wear? - 08/14/15 01:47 AM

Hot, sunny weather--sunscreen, shorts, Columbia Drainmaker shoes, long-sleeve fishing shirt, hat with ear flaps and neck cover.
Cool weather--cargo pants, long-sleeve Columbia fishing shirt.
Cold weather--I'm inside.
Posted By: Mark Ray

Re: New Kayaker: what do you wear? - 08/14/15 01:53 AM

cold weather- silk long underwear, wool middle layer, breathable stocking footed waders, wool socks, water and wind proof jacket, wool stocking cap, and most important: PFD
note wool retains its ability to insulate heat even when wet.
Posted By: HeavyLead

Re: New Kayaker: what do you wear? - 08/14/15 02:19 AM

During the day, long sleeve UPF fishing shirt, and full length UPF fishing pants. Hat,sunglasses, and face shield. When you're white as me, you don't mess around with the Sun. It's intense on the water.

At night, I'll wear anything.
Posted By: The Leadbetter Legend

Re: New Kayaker: what do you wear? - 08/14/15 02:36 AM

Feb-March my buddy has a SOT chooses to wear waders.
I have a Sit In. Calf boots, jeans, (2) layers of
shirts, and Frogg Toggs bottoms & take off the
F/T jacket when the mornings warm up. Either get
an inflatable PFD or one with upper mesh. You
will generate lots of upper body heat & need
to have plenty of movement with your PDF.
Posted By: bert

Re: New Kayaker: what do you wear? - 08/14/15 01:44 PM