Texas Fishing Forum

Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit

Posted By: J Barlow

Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 10:06 PM

Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit...
Do you guys carry one? If so what is in it?
Posted By: AeroAgg06

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 10:10 PM

Nope... but im a newbie and stupid.

I plan to get some Purell to bring with me to put on if i get a hook in my hand or get finned
Posted By: PatchesMark

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 10:12 PM

Yep!
Dykes, antiseptic, bandaids, liquid bandage, bug off
Posted By: C-Frog

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 10:14 PM

I always carry one in a dry bag in my hull. I keep superglue for minor cuts and scrapes, Tylenol, band aids, extra 550 para cord, matches, antibacterial ointment, dry socks, rain jacket, fire starter, and a few other little things. Check out this link for info about wound treatment on the water.
http://www.yaksmack.com/2013/04/acute-wound-care.html
Posted By: DEERSTRANGLER�

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 10:55 PM

I've got one for freshwater which is very simple. It's one of the $19.99 first aid kits from Walmart. My saltwater one is the same with a few items added in. One of them being an EPIRB. My flare gun also travels with me.
Posted By: gutcheck

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 10:57 PM

Side cutters.....scared
Posted By: RealBigReel

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 11:42 PM

Toilet paper. Sometimes those public bathrooms are out.
Knife to cut hooks out of clothes.
Something to cut hooks out of you.
Band-Aids
Styptic
Neosporin
Suture
Gauze
Tape
Posted By: Cudadude

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/11/13 11:52 PM

Always carry a first aid kit in my yaks. And blasting paper for when I fish with Txwhitacre. bolt
Posted By: onebaddj

Re: Kayakers Emergency / First Aid Kit - 06/12/13 03:16 AM