Texas Fishing Forum

Best Kayak for Standing and Rivers

Posted By: PurpleFrogger

Best Kayak for Standing and Rivers - 07/12/19 10:11 PM

Hello.

I am new to the concept of kayak fishing as i have been a boat guy all my life, BUT I am interested in fishing rivers and standing more than sitting. What kayak would you all think best for that?

Thanks.
Posted By: Mike@972

Re: Best Kayak for Standing and Rivers - 07/12/19 10:52 PM

Jackson has a wide line of stable fishing kayaks. I'm not familiar with the Jackson names and specs like others that will likely chime in, but they have several stable platforms and are known for their quality.

My personal experience is with the Hobie PA and Outback.

The Hobie PA is very stable... I stand in mine all the time. Wind and slight current are no problem. However, I keep my butt planted if it's choppy.

The Hobie Outback is also stable. My son stands in his a lot. However, I personally don't like standing in it unless its near dead calm. This is partly because the center platform is relatively small. I may feel differently about the 2019 Outback models because they have a wider/flatter standing area.

Keep in mind that the most stable kayaks typically don't paddle very well and that the faster yaks are not typically "standing stable". In the kayak world, you typically get one or the other... standing type stability or speed/versatility

Re: Best Kayak for Standing and Rivers - 07/12/19 11:29 PM

Interesting, thanks. Life is full of trade offs isn't i?.
i think i will lean towards stability as I am really more concerned with river access my boat cannot obtain. i appreciate your response!
Posted By: christian myrick

Re: Best Kayak for Standing and Rivers - 07/12/19 11:54 PM

If weight isnt much concern then its tough to beat nucanoe frontier.
Posted By: Neumie

Re: Best Kayak for Standing and Rivers - 07/13/19 12:03 AM