Texas Fishing Forum

New Kayak Advice

Posted By: CanadianAggie11

New Kayak Advice - 01/23/18 10:28 PM

I am looking for some advice on purchasing my first fishing kayak. I have some kayak experience, but it is definitely not extensive. Right now I have a small bass boat and would like to have a kayak for easier short fishing trips and easier access to smaller, lake fed, creeks. This being my first kayak, I don't want to spend $4k quite yet. I would like to keep it below $1,200 but still get a quality kayak. I have been looking at the Vibe Sea Ghost 130. Any feedback is much appreciated.

Happy fishing!
Posted By: hurricanecraig

Re: New Kayak Advice - 01/23/18 10:31 PM

Check craiglist. You can usually find pretty good deals on used Kayaks and not have to pay as much.
Posted By: Tallgrass05

Re: New Kayak Advice - 01/23/18 11:53 PM

Don't go cheap on the paddle, you can get a nice 30 oz paddle with a carbon fiber shaft for $150-$200. The best accessory I bought was a set of YakGrips for the paddle.

Make sure your weight plus weight of all gear doesn't exceed 70% of the weight capacity of the kayak.
Posted By: C.M.

Re: New Kayak Advice - 01/24/18 01:21 AM

Pescador Sport 120' (you better be below 240lb, though), craigslist $300-400. If you don't like it -- sell it back for same price. Typically comes with cheap pfd and paddle. It is more than enough to get you on water and catch fish. You'll spend money on luxuries (paddle at the price of kayak) later, if you ever need them.
Posted By: JoMay1961

Re: New Kayak Advice - 01/24/18 02:18 AM