Texas Fishing Forum

Sguarebill reel

Posted By: Gregg R

Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 06:54 PM

Hey guys, I like to throw a squarebill ,wanting to upgrade from a h2o reel to a better reel. I really like the lews. Just wondering which model, gear ratio, line size, etc. I appreciate the help.
Posted By: Bradley McCaw

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 07:00 PM

I throw a 7:1:1 Citica 200g7 on 14lb floro, casts a mile. Id suggest looking into a E or G series shimano reel for sale on the trading forum.
Posted By: McKinneyMike

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 07:01 PM

6.3:1 or less is my favorite for all crank baits. 12lbs to 15lbs floro is all I use for crankbaits. I have no experience with Lew's, but know lots of folks that really enjoy them.
Posted By: musiclife_7

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 07:35 PM

Lews Super Duty - 7.1:1 is all you need...
Posted By: kiamichisooner

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 07:41 PM

REVO STX 6.4 or 7.1.
Posted By: SoCal Tom

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 07:42 PM

I like a low gear ratio reel for square bills as well as deep divers. I can burn with it if I need to. I use the Lews MB in the 5.6:1 gear ratio and I love it. Affordable too with a 139 price point. Here's a link.

http://www.tacklewarehouse.com/Lews_Tournament_MB_Speed_Spool_Casting_Reel/descpage-MBS.html
Posted By: m.sherman

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 07:57 PM

I like to use a 7.1:1 because i am on my trolling motor going down the bank and i am driving at the bait so with a slower reel i have to reel alot faster to get the bait to move so i am not just taking up slack the faster u fish the faster the reel needs to be.
if it is brand u r asking about i use bass pro shop pro qualifiers a lot of bang for the buck.
Posted By: Ian Fellenbaum

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 08:15 PM

I use a 6.3:1, on 12-15 # mono or copoly.
Posted By: Barn

Re: Sguarebill reel - 07/12/17 09:23 PM

Originally Posted By: SoCal Tom