Texas Fishing Forum

Headin to TX to fish, hunt & show my boat

Posted By: Wildkow

Headin to TX to fish, hunt & show my boat - 09/27/16 06:13 AM

I'm headed Texas way to show my boat to a couple people that have expressed an interest. I've always wanted to visit Texas, do a little fishing, shoot a hog or two and scout a place to retire. So this Thursday I'll head out for my first stop in Albuquerque but from there into Texas I have little knowledge of the greatest state in our union! If you wouldn't mind some suggestions I would greatly appreciate your input into lakes, hog hunts, eateries and places to stay.

Here's my boat... http://texasfishingforum.com/forums/ubbt...ay#Post11738976
Posted By: Frank the Tank

Re: Headin to TX to fish, hunt & show my boat - 09/27/16 10:52 AM

What part of Texas?
Posted By: Texasdeepv

Re: Headin to TX to fish, hunt & show my boat - 09/27/16 11:33 AM

Originally Posted By: Frank the Tank
What part of Texas?

Exactly. Very distinct parts in each corner/side of the state to give suggestions without knowing what part you are visiting. It reminds me of the old commercial the state would push out to boost tourism..... "its this whole other country".
Posted By: RayBob

Re: Headin to TX to fish, hunt & show my boat - 09/27/16 12:23 PM

Anyone coming to Texas has a few lakes on a bucket list, many are in the east. Rayburn, Fork, TBend, Palestine. North Texoma and Ray Roberts (plenty of others). Down South Falcon and Amistad. Gotta realize it is 900 miles across the state on I-10 and from Texoma to Falcon is over 500 miles. Just depends on how far you want to drive and how much time you have. Plenty of other waters and those suggestions should be coming.
Posted By: Mike_Soriano™

Re: Headin to TX to fish, hunt & show my boat - 09/27/16 01:47 PM

Fresno eh? My family is from the los banos/Merced area. I would move to east Texas if I was you. A lot of good fishing lakes and the scenery can't be beat.