Texas Fishing Forum

Best way to accelerate learning

Posted By: Chris_K

Best way to accelerate learning - 02/25/15 01:28 AM

I have had to basically teach myself how to fish. I'm still trying to learning and was wondering what is the best way to self teach ? Any suggestions?
Posted By: kirbydog

Re: Best way to accelerate learning - 02/25/15 01:31 AM

Read everything you can. Take some guided trips. And nothing beats time on the water.
Posted By: JoeyC

Re: Best way to accelerate learning - 02/25/15 01:32 AM

Time on the water. Experiment. Plenty of youtube videos about seasonal patterns, presentations, lures. I'm a researcher so I spent a lot of time reading and watching but there really is nothing better than just getting out there and fishing.
Posted By: SteveHummert

Re: Best way to accelerate learning - 02/25/15 01:33 AM

Go fishing with others and trips with guides.......best ways to learn that I have experienced
Posted By: YankHardReelFast

Re: Best way to accelerate learning - 02/25/15 01:55 AM

Nothing beats time on the water. And time on the water is wasted if you're not focused 100% of the time on learning something.

Fishing is a lifetime of learning. You'll never conquer the entire facet of fishing. I suggest breaking it down and learning one aspect at a time. For example, if it's summertime, then choose to learn to fish a jig and a top water. Fish the top water for 2 hours in the morning doing different things and constantly making mental notes of what works, what doesn't, what's easy for you, what's difficult, etc. When the sun comes up good, go to the jig and learn to flip the outside edge of grass. Do this for countless hours during the summer. When fall comes around, pick a couple techniques that work on your lake and start to learn them.