Texas Fishing Forum

Jig Fishing 101 Article (Pt. 1) with In-Fisherman TV Footage

Posted By: AndrewG - Lake Fork Guide

Jig Fishing 101 Article (Pt. 1) with In-Fisherman TV Footage - 01/28/15 01:37 AM

Jig Fishing 101 (Part 1)

It's hard to imagine what the next big idea in the world of bass fishing will be. In my lifetime, fishing lures sure have come a long way, from super realistic swimbaits to elaborate umbrella rigs. However, one of my go-to lures has been around for many decades and continues to fool big bass on a regular basis.

If you look on the deck of my boat any time of year, you'll likely see a jig tied on at least one rod. When I was first learning to fish for bass, I realized that jigs were a big fish lure, and I made it my mission to master the technique. I am still learning today, but maybe you'll find some information here that will make you a more efficient jig fisherman.

Much could be written about swim jigs and football jigs, but the traditional “pitching” or “flipping” jig is the one to be throwing this time of year. In the winter and early spring, prespawn females feed heavily on crawfish. Crawfish are easy prey in the colder water and are one of the best sources of protein a bass can find. A pitching style jig is the perfect crawfish imitator and can also be presented in the heavy timber where big fish live this time of year on Lake Fork.

The first thing I look at when choosing a jig to fish in timber is the head design. This is the most important aspect of a jig in my opinion. You want to find a head that comes through cover well, but more importantly you want one that hooks fish well. Many jig companies boast of the giant hooks they use, and that's because many anglers miss or lose a lot of bites on jigs. The hook is not at fault in most cases. Usually, the design of the head determines how and if a fish gets hooked.