Texas Fishing Forum

Giving up on Lake Fork

Posted By: dentonian

Giving up on Lake Fork - 04/28/14 10:11 PM

My brother and I have been fishing Lake Fork for 30 years...I guess we were spoiled by the great trips we had in the 80's and 90's. Even our young sons were catching 4-8 lb bass back then. We took 4 springtime (primetime) trips last year ( one trip with a guide), and 5 trips this spring (one with a guide). Total haul for 9 trips.....1-6lb bass and 26 bass under 3 lbs. 27 measley bass in 9 trips (two guide trips to boot). It's time to reconsider if the 210 mile roundtrip is worth it anymore. It's hard to say goodbye to a place that provided so many good memories. I understand that fishing Fork can be a humbling experience but the good days used to balance out the bad days......not anymore it seems. Are we the only ones that have come to this point ?
Posted By: Red Eye Bandit

Re: Giving up on Lake Fork - 04/28/14 10:21 PM

I was there this weekend and with all the boats on the water I can see why they don't bite like they did in the past.
You have to remember that Fork is one of the premier fisheries for BIG bass and will always have alot of pressure on it.
Just my opinion of course.
Posted By: skins84

Re: Giving up on Lake Fork - 04/28/14 10:46 PM

Most locals, including guides, would like to forget Jan-Mar this year. Crazy weather patterns along with a colder than normal winter made for tough fishing this spring. Overall it seemed the fish were harder to find and even harder to stay on. On some days it still fishes like the 90's with good numbers and quality.
Posted By: timwins31

Re: Giving up on Lake Fork - 04/28/14 10:50 PM

I've talked with 3 guides in the last month or so, and all 3 said the lake is fishing very strange this year, and yea the winter was cold, but they all think something else is up. No idea what, but the lake is just fishing different than usual.
Posted By: Kay Dyson

Re: Giving up on Lake Fork - 04/28/14 10:57 PM