Texas Fishing Forum

Getting sponsored

Posted By: Bfuller79

Getting sponsored - 04/07/14 02:28 AM

I know that most of the bigger name pros and even local tournament anglers do a pretty awesome job acquiring sponsorships, can anybody give me some tips on getting on with some bigger name brands? I've been on with a couple smaller sponsors for about two years now, don't get me wrong they have been great, but I am looking for one or more that can really help me out financially, while in return I help them sell products or promote exclusively. I have been facing some pretty tough financial problems and could really use the help! Here is a little background, I am only 17 years old, I know that's young but I have had my fair share of tournament hours and have been to nationals twice already, representing Texas. I'm also a decent salesman, I even plan on majoring in marketing in college! If anyone out there can refer me to someone, or is with a company and is willing to help a young angler trying to pursue his dream out, I would really appreciate a message from you or you can email me at doubleb51@gmail.com Thanks for your time!!
Posted By: Bass98

Re: Getting sponsored - 04/07/14 02:37 AM

Sounds like from what you said your doing everything right. I'm absolutely NO expert though.

Re: Getting sponsored - 04/07/14 02:41 AM

Yeah I just want to work in the industry! I know fishing is obviously a big part but I once read, "its not about how good you can work a zara spook, its about how good you can sell one!"
Posted By: Lake Fork Guide

Re: Getting sponsored - 04/07/14 02:44 AM

Originally Posted By: Bfuller79
"its not about how good you can work a zara spook, its about how good you can sell one!"

That is one of the best statements I have read on the TFF in a long time!
Posted By: The Netstretcher

Re: Getting sponsored - 04/07/14 02:51 AM

At 17, I would get a job to fund your fishing instead of trying to get someone to fund it for you.