Texas Fishing Forum

Trailer Tires - San Antonio

Posted By: saskeeter

Trailer Tires - San Antonio - 02/10/12 07:49 PM

I am looking to replace my trailer tires on my 06 ZX 225. There are Goodyear Marathon P205 75 R14 tires on it now. The best price I am getting is from WW Tire in Boerne at $127.75/tire installed which beats Discount Tire by over $20 a tire. Any other tips or recommendations from you fellow TFF'ers?

Posted By: JPost

Re: Trailer Tires - San Antonio - 02/10/12 07:55 PM

I'm not a tire expert so take this for what it's worth. I've owned BassCats exlusivly for the last 6 years and BassCat puts regular car tires on their trailers and they work fine. In fact from what I've been told, car tires are better for the highway speeds most of us tow our boats. If you trust this, I'm sure you can find suitable tires for a lot less than Goodyear Marathons.

Posted By: Legend08

Re: Trailer Tires - San Antonio - 02/10/12 08:07 PM

The problem with regular vehicle radials IMO is the side walls are not as reinforced as trailer tires and do not last as long, and when they go it is usually a blow out. I am sure they ride just fine.

Posted By: Bass Hawk

Re: Trailer Tires - San Antonio - 02/10/12 09:25 PM

Legend not to say you are wrong but my trailer tire came apart with the outside layer slapping my fender and ruined it. Think my trailer tire came apart the same way as you are saying a regular tire would. I put on a regular tire and the only difference i have noticed is a slight more bounce in my trailer. But i have had that tire on for 2 years with regular trips all through out Texas and i have not had any troubles. Just my .02 though

Posted By: phooked

Re: Trailer Tires - San Antonio - 02/10/12 09:47 PM