Texas Fishing Forum

Live scope? Thoughts? Suggestions? Advice?

Posted By: Cuervo Jones

Live scope? Thoughts? Suggestions? Advice? - 10/12/22 06:01 PM

After retiring last year, I’ve had time to get into upgrading my boat rigging and I’ve been eyeballing the Garmin livescope bundle. For you guys who’ve been using it and are familiar, is it really that useful and helpful? I chase bass, hybrids, and walleye on trips back to Wyoming. I’ve been fishing with sonar since 1987 and I’m slow to take up technology (one of my many, many faults).
So is it a “must have” or a “cool gizmo” that I could live without?
Your thoughts and suggestions are gratefully welcomed.
Posted By: SteezMacQueen

Re: Live scope? Thoughts? Suggestions? Advice? - 10/12/22 06:47 PM

If you learn to use it, it’s very helpful. If you don’t learn to use it, it’s wasted money. I can say that I bought one and it paid for itself the first time I fished a tournament with it. I fish a lot of trees and boat docks. You easy see if there are fish there or not. Which pole or branch they’re on, how deep…it is that easy. The only hard part is making the right presentation to get the fish to bite. Sometimes you only get one shot at it. If you figure out what they will eat on the first pass, the rest of the day is easy.
Posted By: GarySHO

Re: Live scope? Thoughts? Suggestions? Advice? - 10/12/22 07:03 PM

Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
If you learn to use it, it’s very helpful. If you don’t learn to use it, it’s wasted money. I can say that I bought one and it paid for itself the first time I fished a tournament with it. I fish a lot of trees and boat docks. You easy see if there are fish there or not. Which pole or branch they’re on, how deep…it is that easy. The only hard part is making the right presentation to get the fish to bite. Sometimes you only get one shot at it. If you figure out what they will eat on the first pass, the rest of the day is easy.

thumb
Posted By: grout-scout