Texas Fishing Forum

Do aluminum boat sink very often?

Posted By: Ibock

Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 02:54 AM

Do aluminum boat sink that often. My dad is looking for a good bass boat but doesn’t want to spend $60,000 and the guy told him that he wouldn’t recommend an aluminum boat because they have a tendency to sink. I have never heard of this but I am by no means an expert.
Posted By: wh2004

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:01 AM

That’s bullsheet.
Posted By: Dubee

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:02 AM

Complete bs
Posted By: 361V

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:11 AM

Was “the guy” a fiberglass boat salesman?
Posted By: outfishdya

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:13 AM

Not if you use the plug.
Posted By: SteezMacQueen

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:19 AM

[Linked Image]
But....seems as though all the sunk boats I find are aluminum.
Posted By: Tiltman

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:20 AM

Smallish aluminum boats like 14 foot Jon’s may swamp easier but to say as a whole they are prone to sinking is absurd.

I managed to keep one afloat with a tear in the bottom and half the lower unit gone , 17 miles back to the ramp
Posted By: Squirrely Dan

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:20 AM

Depends on how many holes you drill and if there’s any foam
Posted By: Grant2

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:42 AM

Buy a Ranger 198P good boat for the money.
Posted By: Douglas J

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 03:50 AM

Originally Posted by Tiltman
Smallish aluminum boats like 14 foot Jon’s may swamp easier but to say as a whole they are prone to sinking is absurd.

I managed to keep one afloat with a tear in the bottom and half the lower unit gone , 17 miles back to the ramp

Tips and Tricks by Tiltman
Posted By: BigDozer66

Re: Do aluminum boat sink very often? - 01/25/21 04:00 AM