Texas Fishing Forum

Falcon Advice

Posted By: wh2004

Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 03:49 PM

I’ve got nothing happening around thanksgiving and thinking about staying at the State Park down there. It’s a long way to go to wing It on a lake I have no knowledge of though. Any advice, areas, techniques to help catch these big fish everyone talks about would be awesome. Thanks!

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 04:26 PM

Did a little research and will stop in at the tackle shop in zapata on the way in for sure.
Posted By: Topwater2

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 04:30 PM

Originally Posted by wh2004
Did a little research and will stop in at the tackle shop in zapata on the way in for sure.

You'll receive some good advice from them fella's.

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 04:54 PM

Is the ramp at the state park open? I don’t have 4wd
Posted By: elkhunter7x6

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 05:01 PM

Is the ramp at the state park open? I don’t have 4wd

It wasn’t three weeks ago. Launching off the point is not a problem with 4wd but I would not go alone with 2wd.

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 05:07 PM

That sucks. Are there campsites where I can put It in Zapata and then leave the boat in the water for the three days of camping? Hate to have to drive up there everyday.

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 05:32 PM

There are no campsites on the water in the Statepark , but there is plenty of shore that you could beach your boat if your not concerned with leaving it unattended at night.

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 05:37 PM

It’s not a bad run from county ramp to dam as long as the wind isn’t blowing too hard.
Posted By: Dan90210 ☮

Re: Falcon Advice - 11/15/20 06:28 PM

I would not leave a boat unattended on the bank at night.