Texas Fishing Forum

Buzzbaits

Posted By: racing75

Buzzbaits - 09/24/20 01:37 PM

What kind of line do you use with buzzbaits?
Posted By: CCTX

Re: Buzzbaits - 09/24/20 01:42 PM

Something that floats that isn't too stretchy, but with some forgiveness to not rip it away from them.
I like 40lb braid to six foot 15lb leader of Pline CXX as a good compromise/best of both worlds.

Re: Buzzbaits - 09/24/20 01:54 PM

Originally Posted by CCTX
Something that floats that isn't too stretchy, but with some forgiveness to not rip it away from them.
I like 40lb braid to six foot 15lb leader of Pline CXX as a good compromise/best of both worlds.

I’ll try that. I was using flouro and it wasn’t allowing it to come to the top of the water until it was almost to the bank. Keep in mind, I’m a newbie with buzzbaits.
Posted By: avid_basser

Re: Buzzbaits - 09/24/20 01:54 PM

I use straight braid...40 lb Diawa J Braid

Smooth, doesn't dig down in the reel on hook set, doesn't seem to fade

I use a slightly lighter rod as well to help with the hook set and keep it pinned
Posted By: Mark Perry

Re: Buzzbaits - 09/24/20 03:17 PM

Daiwa J Braid Grand 8X
Posted By: i-Fish

Re: Buzzbaits - 09/24/20 03:53 PM

Originally Posted by racing75

I’ll try that. I was using flouro and it wasn’t allowing it to come to the top of the water until it was almost to the bank. Keep in mind, I’m a newbie with buzzbaits.

That isn't due to the flouro. The trick is just before the buzz bait hits the water you want to stop the spool with your thumb and then engage the reel just as the buzz bait is entering the water and starting cranking immediately. This will cause the buzz bait to begin doing it's job essentially as soon as it hits the water.

I used braid for the longest time but saw a video about G-man using flouro so I've been testing with that. Haven't thrown it much recently though.
Posted By: avid_basser

Re: Buzzbaits - 09/24/20 04:08 PM