Texas Fishing Forum

Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio?

Posted By: Chris_K

Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio? - 05/01/20 09:50 PM

By far my worst hookup percentage. Any special hooks or tips to help?
Posted By: senko9S

Re: Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio? - 05/01/20 09:52 PM

dont set the hook like a tx rig, load the rod like a drop shot first.
Posted By: Ken A.

Re: Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio? - 05/01/20 10:26 PM

You will need to be a little more specific. What bait? What hook?

I rarely miss a fish that bites my wacky rig whether it be a Trick worm or a Senko-style bait. Not that I'm a pro but I am very meticulous about what hooks I use for each bait.
Posted By: Wayne P.

Re: Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio? - 05/01/20 10:30 PM

Originally Posted by Ken A.

I rarely miss a fish that bites my wacky rig whether it be a Trick worm or a Senko-style bait. Not that I'm a pro but I am very meticulous about what hooks I use for each bait.

I am particular about the hook and rigging method when wacky rigging also:

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Posted By: Monty Wright

Re: Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio? - 05/01/20 10:42 PM

Changing from the little round circle style hooks to a straight shank such as Owners Covershot or VMC Neko helped me tremendously.
Posted By: Chris_K

Re: Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio? - 05/01/20 10:57 PM

Various senko and stick baits. Using weedless 3/0 wide gap wacky hook.
Posted By: SteezMacQueen

Re: Tips to improve wacky rig hookup ratio? - 05/01/20 11:37 PM

Originally Posted by senko9S
dont set the hook like a tx rig, load the rod like a drop shot first.