Texas Fishing Forum

Why be mad at Squaw Creek?

Posted By: Bass Buster1

Why be mad at Squaw Creek? - 02/10/20 04:38 PM

Took my Son in Law out Saturday, it was a beautiful day! We boated around 30 fish up to 4 pounds fishing plastics and spinnerbaits. Where else do you go this time of year and get 30 bites with several 2-3 pounders and a couple over 4 mixed in? For the most part the lake was not crowded and we only had two instances where someone was idling by fishing the bent pole pattern. Unfortunately we caught one while they were doing it and they stopped to fish by us. We left it to them and went somewhere else and caught them. I am no pro so 30 plus bites may be normal on my home lake of Ray Roberts right now for some but not for me. Anyway, it was a great day and the fish were fat, healthy, and willing to bite. What a fun place to fish!
Posted By: James Biggs

Re: Why be mad a Squaw Creek? - 02/10/20 04:41 PM

I completely agree with you. What other lake in dfw during the dead of winter can you get 30+ bites a day? It’s an awesome lake to practice with electronics & offshore techniques.
Posted By: 206champion

Re: Why be mad a Squaw Creek? - 02/10/20 04:51 PM

Originally Posted by Bass Buster1
Took my Son in Law out Saturday, it was a beautiful day! We boated around 30 fish up to 4 pounds fishing plastics and spinnerbaits. Where else do you go this time of year and get 30 bites with several 2-3 pounders and a couple over 4 mixed in? For the most part the lake was not crowded and we only had two instances where someone was idling by fishing the bent pole pattern. Unfortunately we caught one while they were doing it and they stopped to fish by us. We left it to them and went somewhere else and caught them. I am no pro so 30 plus bites may be normal on my home lake of Ray Roberts right now for some but not for me. Anyway, it was a great day and the fish were fat, healthy, and willing to bite. What a fun place to fish!