Texas Fishing Forum

where do bass start to spawn on rayburn first

Posted By: Wfo4x4

where do bass start to spawn on rayburn first - 01/29/20 01:17 PM

im going to rayburn in a week or so and im new to the lake just would like to have a starting are. not looking for secret spots
Posted By: SteezMacQueen

Re: where do bass start to spawn on rayburn first - 01/29/20 01:49 PM

It’s a little early for bed fishing usually around very late February to early March is when it slowly starts.
Posted By: BASS101

Re: where do bass start to spawn on rayburn first - 01/29/20 02:10 PM

Depends on the weather each year but I have found bass on beds as early as January on Rayburn. Harvey creek area is a good starting point and of course further north. Good luck in your search and let us know if you find any!
Posted By: CashFishingTeam

Re: where do bass start to spawn on rayburn first - 01/29/20 02:29 PM

To make it easy before you go, go to you tube, search for Ken Smith Fishing, and watch his videos. He’ll have some that talk about the spawn. Particularly the ones where he goes over the map of the lake. He has a few videos that covers the lake from top to bottom on a map and he’ll point out spots on it and see if they are good summer spots or spawning spots etc. Def an easy way to get an idea of things to do. Oh and your welcome for the post Kenny! Lol
Posted By: criglizard

Re: where do bass start to spawn on rayburn first - 01/29/20 02:33 PM

Some of the guys on FLW Live last week were saying they caught a few post spawn fish. I don’t know where to find them but look for the warmest water, that’s where they’ll be.
Posted By: Mark Perry

Re: where do bass start to spawn on rayburn first - 01/29/20 03:58 PM

Originally Posted by SteezMacQueen
It’s a little early for bed fishing usually around very late February to early March is when it slowly starts.