Texas Fishing Forum

Sleeping in your tow vehicle.?

Posted By: Chris_K

Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/29/19 10:38 PM

I’m traveling in November to fish a tournament. I plan to sleep in the back of my SUV. My limited google searches of the area lead me to believe state parks and campsites will be closed down before this date so parking there is out of the question.. so now. I’m planning to park at the ramp, cook a little dinner on a small cooktop and be in my vehicle the rest of the time. There aren’t any issues with sleeping in a public parking lot is there? I’ve never done this before so just making sure what I should expect. Thanks.
Posted By: harvey walker

Re: Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/29/19 10:43 PM

Me and two other fishing buddy's of mine did it for years. I would check on the FORUM to see way kind of area this tournament is going to be held just for safety sake!

there was always three of us doing it.
Posted By: Dubee

Re: Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/29/19 10:47 PM

I did it for years when i was young and broke. Never had a problem. What do you mean the state parks will be closed then?

Re: Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/29/19 10:56 PM

The state park campsites close 10/15 there.
Posted By: dk2429

Re: Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/29/19 11:01 PM

Walmart.

I can sleep like a baby in my truck. If I head off somewhere and want to stay another day or dont feel up to the drive back I'll park her at Walmart and let her idle all night with the AC blowing.
Posted By: Dubee

Re: Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/29/19 11:32 PM

Originally Posted by Chris_K
The state park campsites close 10/15 there.

What state park?

Re: Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/29/19 11:47 PM

Shawnee bend state park
Posted By: Denny Crane

Re: Sleeping in your tow vehicle.? - 08/30/19 02:13 AM

You should never sleep in your vehicle with the motor constantly running, Co2 poisoning is a real thing.
You wont wake up.
Posted By: Denny Crane