Texas Fishing Forum

Bassmaster Elite Culling

Posted By: Minner Bucket

Bassmaster Elite Culling - 06/21/19 06:09 PM

Just watched Brock Mosley fishing next to Patrick Walters fishing off-shore, cull a fish. The fish just floated on the surface and couldn't go down, like it had an expanded air bladder. Rather than fizz the dam fish, he says, "sucker won't go down, oh well its still alive thats all that matters", meaning he was still with in the rules of his tournament to cull that fish. I thought these guys were supposed to promote the sport in a positive manner. I'm no tree hugger and I'm also not a pro, and even I know how to fizz a fish. It appeared that fish he culled had no chance at survival with out fizzing and neither pro gave a carp!
Posted By: Frank the Tank

Re: Bassmaster Elite Culling - 06/21/19 06:22 PM

Does this really surprise you? Doesn’t surprise me a bit. I didn’t see it, but if it happened word for word like you said it did - I’m not surprised.
Posted By: Bruce Allen

Re: Bassmaster Elite Culling - 06/21/19 06:31 PM

Fizzing a fish takes a few minutes and perhaps neither felt it was worth their time away from the tournament to do that.

But having said that all fish floating on the surface due to barotrauma do not necessarily die. Eventually they will recover and swim down and away. That is if they don't go into shock from a very hot sun in pretty hot water, wear themselves out trying to turn over, are run over by a boat, eaten by an eagle, commorant, turtle, gar, flathead or an otter.

I'm sure the young fellers are regretting doing it and will loose a lot of sleep. OR NOT.

Also I am also not a tree hugger. But I do know how to fizz a fish and can easily teach anyone. Even BASS PRO.
Posted By: buda13

Re: Bassmaster Elite Culling - 06/21/19 06:31 PM