Texas Fishing Forum

Graph Choices.....Helix 12 G2N or HDS 12 Gen 3

Posted By: 5Redman8

Graph Choices.....Helix 12 G2N or HDS 12 Gen 3 - 07/22/18 11:32 PM

I currently have Gen 1 HDS 8s. The housing of each has cracked/broken this year.

It is time for new.

I do not care about linking units together....never have.

On the bow all I ever use is regular sonar and small map.

While driving, I like map, SI, and sonar.

Narrowed it down to these 2....
HELIX 12 CHIRP MEGA SI GPS G2N
HDS 12 Gen 3 Totalscan

Whichever I get, I will pair it with a 9" at the bow

What are the biggest advantages of each?
Posted By: jbcarroll3000

Re: Graph Choices.....Helix 12 G2N or HDS 12 Gen 3 - 07/23/18 02:07 AM

I'm not an expert, so someone can certainly give you better insight than I can. Seeing as how no expert has responded yet, I'll give you my thoughts in the meantime as I have run both Gen 1 Helixes (but have been in boats with the Mega Gen 2) and Gen 3 Lowrances.

The MEGA imaging on the Helixes are the clearest and most detailed down imaging and side imaging that I have seen. It is noticeably better than the Gen1 and the Lowrance at this time. That's a big advantage. The other advantage is that you could link to an Ultrex if desired (not high on my list).

The touch screen on the Lowrance units is the biggest upside over the Helixes that I see. Much easier to go through your menus. Much easier to specify what kind of marker you want to use for a waypoint, labeling them, etc. Also, on the Lowrances, if I put a "tree" waypoint out, it always shows up as a tree on the screen. On the Helix, if I put a tree, it just shows up as a run-of-the-mill waypoint unless I actually move the cursor to highlight that specific waypoint. Maybe this is different on the Gen2's and maybe there's a way to avoid this on the Gen1's and I just haven't figured it out, but it's annoying.

The best of both worlds may be the Solix as you get MEGA imaging and touchscreen, but dang those are expensive.