Texas Fishing Forum

Line...again

Posted By: JavelinJ

Line...again - 05/29/18 09:13 PM

So, I had a post about re-tying your knots and how often you did it.

I was breaking off pretty regular. Using the same knots that I have been using for the last 25 years. Never had any trouble before.

But, I had just switched everything to flourocarbon. I always fished mono before. I just started to assume my knot wasn't that good with flouro.

Anyhow yesterday I had a couple more break offs. I started feeling my line every 3-4 cast and was noticing it to be frayed/rough about 3" above the knot for about a 6" length. Then, i broke off again. This time the lure floated up and confirmed it is not my knot.

It broke off about 4" above the knot. I had to start cutting out a section of line every 10 cast or so.

I thought I had Seaguar on this reel but I now remember it being Berkley Vanish Flouro in 17lb.

Does that line stink that much or what?? All the eyes on the rod are in good shape.
Posted By: 9094

Re: Line...again - 05/29/18 09:16 PM

Vanish is excellent line. Come fish a few of our tournaments we need your money.
Actually it sucks for bass fishing. It has zero abrasion resistance. But I understand the ice fishermen up north love it.

Re: Line...again - 05/29/18 09:24 PM

So what line is good other than Seaguar?
Posted By: Thad Rains

Re: Line...again - 05/29/18 09:29 PM

I have avoided the break off problems for the past 18 years by using McCoys Mean Green copolymer. GREAT line and really strong for what it is. It actually has a smaller line diameter than like weighted monos. Sorry about yoru break offs. I had break offs when I tried Pline CXX2, so I took it off and replaced it with McCoys Mean Green. It is VERY low in memory, very strong and has a lot of stretch. I use it for everything except C-rigs, then I use it for my leader material. Hope this helps. Tight lines, keep safe and good luck.

Thad Rains
Posted By: Barn

Re: Line...again - 05/29/18 09:32 PM