Texas Fishing Forum

Help me start my bass tackle box.

Posted By: Srawl

Help me start my bass tackle box. - 03/22/18 06:04 AM

Ok, you have $100 of my money to spend on tackle to get me started. I’m brand new to bass fishing but have been doing a lot of reading and YouTube watching. I’m compiling a pretty good list and you guys have been very helpful so far.

Between cranks, jerks, rips, top waters, spinners, square, round, lipless, all the softs and not to mention colors... it’s overwhelming to say the least.

So if you were starting someone out from scratch what do you tell them to get.

Be as specific as possible with brand, type, model, color, weight etc...
Posted By: Bobby Milam

Re: Help me start my bass tackle box. - 03/22/18 06:29 AM

You really need to tell what kind of fishing you want to do. Fishing from a boat? deep or shallow, the shore? You really don't want to just go out and fill a tackle box. Start with a few basics and then slowly buy what you like to use. Plastics are cheap and versatile. $100 doesn't go very far with tackle. Keep it simple and just get 2 or 3 colors to start. Remember that most of the tackle out there is to catch fishermen not fish.

For me it would probably be a package of good hooks, some weights, watermelon baby brush hogs, chartreuse dipping dye, small swivels, a couple bags of worms, a black/chartreuse and a shad colored square bill crank bait, chartreuse/white spinner baits and a top water. That alone, depending on brand will be getting close to your budget. Acquiring tackle is a long term process learned from experience. Just take $10-20 a week and go try something new.
Posted By: Srawl

Re: Help me start my bass tackle box. - 03/22/18 06:41 AM

It will be a mix of shore and boat. I will also be purchasing the rest of the things needed for fishing ie baitcasting rod and reel, tackle bag etc...

$100 is the getting started budget for the bait. I fully expect to spend much more over time.
Posted By: kevine80