Texas Fishing Forum

So I had an idea for a bass rig... will it work?

Posted By: WhiskerFisher

So I had an idea for a bass rig... will it work? - 01/11/18 10:31 PM

I've been trying recently for some winter bass, as I have limited experience with bass fishing. No luck with cranks, spoons, or tubes. What has worked for me is a senko. Few weeks ago when the weather was decent, I caught my first bass ever on a weightless senko fishing in a hard-to-cast-in hole at a state park. Not much, but it was a bass! Since then, I've had no luck catching much of anything, bass or catfish. But I would like to catch another bass, so today I took advantage of the Cabela's and Bass Pro Shop merger and snagged a few things from Z man. No shroomz heads in stock yet though, but I did get a few TRD baits, and was intrigued when I saw the Hard Leg Frogz. Grabbed a pack, took it home... thought it over for a while, and decided a hybrid carolina rig could work pretty well for these. I even think a catfish might bite this as well.

I pushed a 5/0 Worm hook through the front of the frog, then brought it back through the bottom slot to stick out the top slot. I then Kreh looped about a 1.5' 10' test fluorocarbon leader onto the eyelet, attached a carolina keeper about 6" up the leader, slid on a small plastic bead, and a bullet weight of unknown weight (I'm guessing it's about 3/16-1/4 oz). I tied a small power swivel onto the other end of the leader in case a catfish does bite it and decides to roll.

While I haven't tested it in the wild yet, "the sink test" shows promise. It will float the little weight slightly nosing down, but when I jerk it, the frog dives with some cool action! I think this is called a "dragging rig" but I haven't seen it done quite like this before. My hope is that it skirts the bottom of a water source and then rises back up again. Will it work? I will attach a picture of it here in a bit.
Posted By: Chris_K