Texas Fishing Forum

what is going on with my brisket?

Posted By: jwcromer

what is going on with my brisket? - 06/15/19 02:03 PM

I have a masterbuilt electric smoker,put a 15.5 lb brisket on at 3 am,temp at 250 ready for a long cook.check back at 8am and the temp is 205,how can a 15.5 lb brisket be done in 5 hrs?
Posted By: CrappieKiller62

Re: what is going on with my brisket? - 06/15/19 03:14 PM

Certainly doesn't seem right unless you wrapped it. Usually 1hr/lb at 225

Re: what is going on with my brisket? - 06/15/19 03:16 PM

Originally Posted by OUnumber1
Certainly doesn't seem right unless you wrapped it. Usually 1hr/lb at 225
did not wrap.
Posted By: V-Bottom

Re: what is going on with my brisket? - 06/15/19 04:45 PM

Did ya eat some?
Posted By: Luke57

Re: what is going on with my brisket? - 06/15/19 07:11 PM

Thermostat may be bad
Posted By: Jerry713

Re: what is going on with my brisket? - 06/15/19 07:49 PM

Check the thermostat by putting an oven thermometer or other thermometer in the smoker.

Nothing wrong with having it done early though. I've held briskets for 12 hours before keep them warm in a cooler of food warmer.
Posted By: Gamblinman

Re: what is going on with my brisket? - 06/15/19 08:57 PM

Originally Posted by jwcromer
I have a masterbuilt electric smoker,put a 15.5 lb brisket on at 3 am,temp at 250 ready for a long cook.check back at 8am and the temp is 205,how can a 15.5 lb brisket be done in 5 hrs?

No way its done even at the Masterbuilt max temp of 300°. Get a handheld thermometer to check for brisket doneness. In five hours, I doubt its even hit the stall.
Posted By: karstopo

Re: what is going on with my brisket? - 06/16/19 10:52 AM

How did you check the internal temperature of the brisket? One, you might not be getting the temperature probe in the right spot. Maybe that temperature probe is off. Boiling water should read 212.

No way a 15# brisket gets done in 5 hours at 250. I cook at ~250 and the time is around 50 minutes/pound.