Texas Fishing Forum

Well my first boat and it looks like I’m re-powering :(

Posted By: Ryan B

Well my first boat and it looks like I’m re-powering :( - 02/16/20 03:24 AM

Well I bought a 2002 Majek RFL 18ft with a 1996 Evinrude 115 and took it to a good friends shop and found out the engine is pretty much toasted. So here I am looking at repowering the boat because I got the boat for less than 1k I can dump some money in to it. The only problem is that I’m still in college and trying to get my first nice boat going. So here’s my options, either repower with a 115 Suzuki or E-tec but of course I will have to finance. My only other option is to see if someone has a good deal on either a nice used 115 or 90 hp engine that is guaranteed to run. So if I end up going for a new motor, what would y’all pick? Also how much on average does a repower cost for someone to install and do everything? I have no experience with newer engines so it’s a whole different world for me. Also if y’all know of any cheaper repower options for a newer motor please let me know. But of course if worse comes to worse I’ll just end up selling the boat. So let me know what yalls a thoughts are. Thanks guys!!!
Posted By: TritonRob

Re: Well my first boat and it looks like I’m re-powering :( - 02/16/20 12:25 PM

Try Integrity Outboards. I don't have any personal experience with them but I see their ads all the time and I think they do a bunch of work with the Parks and Wildlife dept. They usually have used outboards and will bolt it on for you. Someone else may have more info than me...
Posted By: boatwhisperer

Re: Well my first boat and it looks like I’m re-powering :( - 02/16/20 04:10 PM

I have a 1996 Johnson 115 if you are interested. and I will offer you something for yours if you have the title you can reach me @ 817-455-8377 I don't know where you live just fyi thanks
Posted By: Alumacraft 14

Re: Well my first boat and it looks like I’m re-powering :( - 02/17/20 03:22 PM

Suzuki.