Texas Fishing Forum

Fly Fishing White Bass

Posted By: polishpreacher

Fly Fishing White Bass - 02/01/21 03:23 AM

Hello!!! I am fairly new to getting in to fly fishing, but was wondering if folks hit the white bass runs when they get in to the creeks? I've chased them with lures but this just popped in to my mind. If so, what kinds of flies should I be looking for? Thanks!!!
Posted By: FlyFX

Re: Fly Fishing White Bass - 02/01/21 05:40 AM

Clouser, cepert, and most baitfish imitations
Posted By: Bones72

Re: Fly Fishing White Bass - 02/01/21 01:30 PM

Check out my ad up in the classifieds. I can get you set up. But like FlyFX said; clouser, cypert minnow, and just about any smallish baitfish imitation. I usually stay below 2 to 3 inches during the run with my flies, think #8 to #4 hooks. If you get the opportunity to hit 'em up in the lakes when the shad are spawning you can go a little bigger. My personal preference in most instances is a grey and white fly but there are times and places I will use pink/white, and or chartreuse/white clousers. Most of the clousers I use are bead chain worked real slow but again on rare occasion I will use a traditional dumbell eye fly. For me outside of the coast the whitebass run is my favorite time to break out the buggy whip,
Posted By: Capt. Mac

Re: Fly Fishing White Bass - 02/01/21 04:11 PM

https://vimeo.com/318257842
Posted By: Jim Ford

Re: Fly Fishing White Bass - 02/01/21 06:26 PM