Texas Fishing Forum

Cure for zebra mussels.

Posted By: BillS2006

Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/16/21 03:33 PM

Simple and easy way to rid your boat of the zebra mussels.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mLTwVMhwD5k
Posted By: Barbers Tree

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/16/21 05:27 PM

how much?
Posted By: grout-scout

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/16/21 07:25 PM

I was curious if zebra and quagga were the same, so I asked Ol’ Google. Apparently they are a bit different and the zebras prefer warmer water. Possible that the hot water bath won’t work, but might be worth some testing, that’s for sure.

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/16/21 08:08 PM

Video says quagga and zebra mussels. But maybe that's just media spin.
Posted By: EB Lane

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/16/21 08:51 PM

I have been keeping a full bar of ivory soAP IN MY BIL;GE FOR SEVERAL YEARS

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/16/21 08:59 PM

I wonder if zebras are in any of the active cooling plant lakes???

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/17/21 12:37 PM

The list on TP&W website does not list warm water lakes. But, I don't know of any warm water lakes that are 110º year round. And I have always had a theory that power plants add some chemical to keep pipes clean. And I believe that is why so many power plant lakes don't have crappie spawn.
Posted By: Jimbo

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/17/21 01:28 PM

Originally Posted by BillS2006
The list on TP&W website does not list warm water lakes. But, I don't know of any warm water lakes that are 110º year round. And I have always had a theory that power plants add some chemical to keep pipes clean. And I believe that is why so many power plant lakes don't have crappie spawn.

Unfortunately it's no theory!
I've seen our local powerplant lakes kill off aquatic vegetation seemingly overnight so zebra mussels is a non factor.

Re: Cure for zebra mussels. - 04/17/21 01:34 PM

Originally Posted by Jimbo