Texas Fishing Forum

AirBoats

Posted By: Paul - Lake Fork

AirBoats - 02/03/21 03:42 PM

Friend of mine just got a 15 ft AirBoat unfortunately has no experience with this type of boat. Ask me for help I have a lot of experience in a boat, but not like this.
All I saw was a handle for left & right and a accelerator.
Any Tips.. he does know how to fly a plane and helicopter so he should be able to catch on.
Thanks in advance. thumb
Posted By: Jimbo

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 04:22 PM

Learn on the fly so to speak.
Posted By: Mo

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 04:57 PM

Please don't buzz my house at 2 am.

Mo
Posted By: KEGracing

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 08:07 PM

I have been around a couple but never drove them.

Most have car - automobile engines. Really nice if you know what you are doing, and amazing the places they can go. But looks like a good way to get hurt and tear stuff up if you dont know what you are doing... JMHO. Look to be top heavy.

I would find someone that has one, and pay them for some knowledge... again, JMHO.

Good luck with it. Should be fun!

Ken
Posted By: Huckleberry

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 08:10 PM

Don't stick your head inside the caged area behind the seat when it's running.
Posted By: Holzer

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 08:59 PM

From what I have seen on TV, wear hearing protection
Posted By: harvey walker

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 10:45 PM

YOUTUBE IT
Posted By: 9094

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 11:13 PM

Pretty easy just don’t make sudden or hard turns of the stick. Very slight adjustments is all it takes.
Once you get the hang of it they are a blast.
Posted By: Jimfishes

Re: AirBoats - 02/03/21 11:13 PM

Originally Posted by Paul - Lake Fork
Friend of mine just got a 15 ft AirBoat unfortunately has no experience with this type of boat. Ask me for help I have a lot of experience in a boat, but not like this.
All I saw was a handle for left & right and a accelerator.