Texas Fishing Forum

New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚

Posted By: JenGue

New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/10/20 03:41 PM

So I’m brand new to fishing. My grandfather took me out as a very young kid but that’s it!! Yesterday, we went to Lake Whitney SP and I caught only 1 fish. But it was a decent size and still had a lot of fun so worth it! But I can’t for the life of me, figure out what kind of fish it is! I’d really appreciate yall’s help! Thanks so much!

Attached picture E5986846-4888-414F-BA28-D88815C47F28.jpeg
Posted By: T Bird

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/10/20 03:47 PM

gaspergou /fresh water drum.
Posted By: tmd11111

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/10/20 03:47 PM

Drum and welcome aboard
Posted By: avid_basser

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/10/20 03:54 PM

As stated above...

Freshwater drum

&

Welcome!

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/10/20 03:56 PM

Thank you everyone!!
Posted By: Okie Poke

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/10/20 09:43 PM

welcome JenGue!
Posted By: Curt0407

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/10/20 09:52 PM

By the way, those that size a pretty good table fare.
Posted By: Topwater2

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/11/20 02:06 AM

Welcome aboard, nice catch. Hope to see more pictures in the future. A lot of good folks here if you have questions, need lake info, or whatever. Keep the lines tight!!

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/11/20 02:28 AM

Thanks! Yes, I immediately bled it out and gutted it! Definitely big enough for a meal! Trying to decide the best way to cook it now! 😁
Posted By: Donald Harper

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/11/20 02:02 PM

welcome Glad your here. My Grandmother pressure cooked those kind of fish which also included Buffalo and Carp. She had a wonderful recipe for like tuna salad sandwiches that she did for use kids. They have more bones than Bass or Crappie. Pressure cooking eliminates that problem.

Re: New fisherwoman...help! πŸ˜‚ - 08/11/20 02:29 PM