Texas Fishing Forum

Caddo Lake Update

Posted By: Bit Man

Caddo Lake Update - 06/29/20 01:44 PM

Fished Caddo for the first time last Monday through Thursday, fished it hard too, daylight to dark with a lunch break every day. We caught over 50 fish, 20 of them give or take on top waters (frogs and buzz baits) in the morn or in the eve. All of our better fish came on top. My son caught a 5.28 on the first night on a frog, sucker came out of the water and took it down like you see on a TV show, it was pretty epic. It was his best frog fish ever and it ended up being our biggest fish of the trip. I did lose a whopper on Thursday morning on a frog, I am not good with frogs, but I did slay them on a buzz bait. It did seem they ate one particular frog better than others, white belly with a red throat, we only had one so I colored a white belly frogs throat red with a sharpie and never got a blow up on it, weird. I did catch one 4 pounder on a frog with a purple belly and lost the big one on that frog as well.

A 7" tx rigged ribbon tail worm in june bug caught a lot of fish in the bayous casting around docks and bulk heads but mostly smaller 2s with the occasional 2.5 to 3# fish.

Caught a few nice ones on the main lake as well on 5" swim baits but the bites were very long in between so we stayed on the bayous more than the lake as the action was much better and it was nice being in a little deeper water.

We only over heated our motor once and I bent my prop in the govt ditch but all it all it was an awesome trip and we had so much fun together just fishing for the week.

We stayed at Shady Glade, it was perfect, room was clean, cafe food was friggen awesome, they had a boat slip for us all week which made it super convenient and we had zero issues with anything.