Texas Fishing Forum

Help! I can't catch fish.

Posted By: iKwame

Help! I can't catch fish. - 12/27/19 03:38 PM

I'm new to fishing and I've been to Buffalo Run, Tom Bass, and the Texas City dike. I'm sure it's my methods but I can't catch a damn thing.

I'm getting frustrated. Are there any spots where I can catch some small fish to build up my confidence and skills near Houston?

FYI, I just ordered some rooster tails so I would to freshwater this weekend.
Posted By: BillS2006

Re: Help! I can't catch fish. - 12/27/19 04:41 PM

Sheldon Lake.
Posted By: bigcast88

Re: Help! I can't catch fish. - 12/27/19 10:56 PM

Well it's all about repetition in my opinion once you find a spot where you know fish are then study it.how the water moves, what the bank looks like study up on feeding habits, breeding habits aswell as habitats. for example I know during the months of October and November some say thru January big bullreds come to the shallows to breed stuff like that. if the spot has structures in the water cause if so chances are there will be bait fish hanging out there which of course means bigger fish will be near by. once you know how the target fish thinks and acts it's just a matter of time till ya sink that hook and screaming reels will soon follow good luck to you
Posted By: Pitdad

Re: Help! I can't catch fish. - 01/02/20 03:27 AM

You'll be less frustrated when it warms up. Until then, it's lots of casting and few fish. The good news is the fish are usually bigger and there's fewer fishermen. Keep casting and enjoy the day!
Posted By: banker-always fishing

Re: Help! I can't catch fish. - 01/02/20 05:03 AM

welcome To the TFF!

As for learning to fish there are two basic factors. The more you fish the better you will get. Also make sure you have the right kind of tackle for the right kind of fish. The most important thing is to have fun and enjoy the outdoors! Best of luck. Have a blast learning. thumb
Posted By: machoblanco61