Texas Fishing Forum

Thoughts on small fishing boats?

Posted By: FisherPrice

Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 06:00 AM

Hello all,

Newbie here. I'm in the market for a small 1 to 2 man fishing boat, like the Pelican Bass Raider10e. I want something small that I can just put in the backyard when I'm done. No trailering either. I plan on putting it on a roof rack.
Has anyone had experience fishing on one?

Thanks
Posted By: boocat

Re: Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 01:27 PM

Sounds hard,... I tried the "back of the pickup" for my 8 ft. a few times. Enjoy it so much more after I went and got a lawn mower trailer from tractor supply. Can also use the trailer for many more things.
Posted By: BrandoA

Re: Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 01:35 PM

Unless your pretty big fella that roof rack routine is gonna be difficult especially trying solo. Defiantly wanna have a truck and preferably a small trailer.
Posted By: Jim Ford

Re: Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 02:59 PM

Yeah, mine wasn't so bad loading in the pickup bed. No way I'd try loading it on a roof rack.
Posted By: PKfishin

Re: Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 03:51 PM

better stay of lakes unless you want to be swamped.
Posted By: CCTX

Re: Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 03:56 PM

Agree with all the above.

Texas sun and UV will destroy anything plastic within 5 years.
Whatever you choose to buy, keep it covered.

I'd look at kayaks also; easier to haul and carry; less maintenance; don't have to lug around a trolling motor and big 12V battery.

Re: Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 06:21 PM

I appreciate all the advice. I definitely plan on keeping it covered when not in use.
If anyone has a line on a used one in or near SA, I'm all ears. I just want to get off the bank already.
Posted By: kirbydog

Re: Thoughts on small fishing boats? - 07/09/19 06:28 PM