Texas Fishing Forum

New to fishing and could use some help

Posted By: Greenarrow118

New to fishing and could use some help - 03/05/18 05:49 PM

Hello All

I am new to the state of Texas and plan on getting my fishing licenses here within the next few weeks. I live in Grapevine so most of my fishing will be done at lake Lewisville or Grapevine. I will be fishing from the banks as I don't own a boat atm. With that said I have no idea where to start. I don't what size rod or reel to use or even what type of bait to use either. I would really like some help getting my feet wet so I can be great fisherman like all of you! Thanks
Posted By: Uncle Zeek

Re: New to fishing and could use some help - 03/05/18 06:25 PM

Any particular kind of fish that you prefer to chase? What type of rod & reels are you comfortable using?

Have you given any thought to a portable boat, like a bass buggy or small jonboat?

This would all be helpful info to get you useful responses.

My general answer would be to fish minnows under a bobber. Most everything in the lake eats minnows.

Re: New to fishing and could use some help - 03/05/18 09:39 PM

I would mostly like to catch catfish or bass. As for the rod and reel I guess it would be the basic setup a setup that will last me a good while. Where can buy minnows from?
Posted By: Fish2Chill 1

Re: New to fishing and could use some help - 03/05/18 10:25 PM

"I will be fishing from the banks as I don't own a boat atm."

Sorry for the smart alek post, just could not help but wonder if your choice of words "boat atm" refers to the need to own an ATM to keep em going or maybe that is short for "at the moment". LOL

As for your real question, sorry but not much help due to not fishing North Texas lakes very often.
Posted By: Bruce's

Re: New to fishing and could use some help - 03/05/18 10:39 PM

Greenarrow118