Texas Fishing Forum

new to the central texas area ( Round Rock )

Posted By: striperdave

new to the central texas area ( Round Rock ) - 01/16/18 12:10 PM

Hi,
I'm new to the Round Rock area and looking for the right forum to start learning about local fishing. This is really the only forum I could find that had active fishing reports etc.
I need to be sure I'm on the right forum for new guys and want to learn about the type of fresh water fishing I can expect in my area. I've been a salt water offshore fisherman for years. I guess its time to learn how to bass fish!
Thanks in advance.
Dave
Posted By: sae

Re: new to the central texas area ( Round Rock ) - 01/16/18 12:44 PM

Good people and good info here. Welcome!
Posted By: SlabSeeker

Re: new to the central texas area ( Round Rock ) - 01/16/18 01:22 PM

striperdave,

Welcome to the forum. What type of fish are you looking to target? There are several great lakes around your area.
Posted By: boocat

Re: new to the central texas area ( Round Rock ) - 01/16/18 03:05 PM

You found the right place.
Posted By: T Bird

Re: new to the central texas area ( Round Rock ) - 01/16/18 06:24 PM

Your in a great central location. Lots of different waters to fish with-in 30 min.-1 hr. of R/R.
Posted By: ClarkBird

Re: new to the central texas area ( Round Rock ) - 01/16/18 06:29 PM

If you're on Facebook, look up "Keep Austin Fishing" You'll have to be approved to join but there is a wealth of information in that group.
Posted By: herbsteiner

Re: new to the central texas area ( Round Rock ) - 01/21/18 05:13 PM

Welcome to the Centex! smile

I live on Lake Travis in the Spicewood area. Really, only a few years back we had a great community of guys, and some serious sticks, on AustinBassFishing.com. Sadly, lots of the main guys moved on and the forum was sold. Now there's a few of us left there but the uninvited and unwanted spam invasion is so discouraging that a bunch of us are moving here to TFF. Including me.