Print Thread
Braid no birds nest?? #8996615 06/02/13 10:33 PM
A
AustinTx87 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
A
Just watched a video that said braided line doesn't backlash and doesn't cause birds nest? True or false? Birds nest is something I hate to deal with while at the lake. It doesn't do it a lot but sometimes when switching between lures it may backlash on me. I've never used braided line before but I have been wanting to try switching to braided line. What are the ups/downs about using braided line?

Show me where the fish are and I'll catch them ;-)
Re: Braid no birds nest?? [Re: AustinTx87] #8996887 06/03/13 12:20 AM
J
Jeremy S. Offline
TFF Team Angler
TFF Team Angler
J
Oh it will and when it does, it's epic.

It's very soft and if you happen to have a professional over run into the wind or maybe a cast you release too low because you're fishing at night and it hits the water 25 feet from the boat instead of 100 feet from the boat it will make knots that will blow your mind.

I do believe it's less prone to do so but if and when it does, they are worth taking pictures of.

Re: Braid no birds nest?? [Re: Jeremy S.] #8997412 06/03/13 03:20 AM
A
AustinTx87 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
A
Originally Posted By: slodsm

It's very soft and if you happen to have a professional over run into the wind or maybe a cast you release too low because you're fishing at night and it hits the water 25 feet from the boat instead of 100 feet from the boat it will make knots that will blow your mind.

I do believe it's less prone to do so but if and when it does, they are worth taking pictures of.

lol That's something I would hate to deal with. Ill have to try it to find out. The regular line gets birds nest but when it does it shows bends and corners in the line after. If braided line doesn't do that I think it will be worth the try.

Re: Braid no birds nest?? [Re: Jeremy S.] #8998921 06/03/13 06:18 PM
P
Paul Johnson Offline
Outdoorsman
Outdoorsman