Print Thread
need some advice please #7788015 07/21/12 06:07 AM
W
welder99 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
W
im new to the fly kinda ive done it in the past not to serious but now i wanna get serious i got a 8wt white river rod and reel from bass pro and i got abt 15 flies not sure what is good but i just grabbed some that looked good my main question is, is fly fishing more spotting the fish to catch them or just cast and hope for the best ive been fishing ray hubbard latley but no luck im not asking for anyones secrets just some tips and pointers to get me going in the right direction and what kinda fish im catching dont matter any feedback will be appreaciated

The secret to success is hidden in your everyday routine
Re: need some advice please [Re: welder99] #7788443 07/21/12 02:28 PM
M
MHawk82 Offline
Angler
Angler
M
You can sight fish or fish just like you would with conventional gear. Find fishy areas with brush, structure, etc. and give them a try. Some days I fish 15 flies in 3 hours and some days luckily the one I started with is catching and I'll fish 3 hours with just one fly. Presentation and fly selection are the key though.

Re: need some advice please [Re: welder99] #7790711 07/22/12 03:44 AM
C
ccabal Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
C
With the 8wt I assume your main target is Largemouth bass? If so, the key is to get up super early,especially this time of year. Get out just before the sun comes out, and find areas with deep water nearby. You should be able to catch some.

Just wondering, what flies did you get?

Your close to my part of town. I fish Ray Hubbard occasionally. I've got a few spots I like to hit... accessible if you got a boat.
Here are some spots I've had some luck, fishing early
1. By Robertson Park marina, (I-30,Dalrock)by the rocky areas around the boat ramp and all around there.
2. Across the lake, at Chandlers Landing Marina. There is a rocky jetty that protects the marina. I've caught a few decent fish there.