texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
Cameron Gose, Jetskirentals512, Flashin Assassin Lures, SoonerTex0623, Bobby J.
119181 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
hopalong 121,032
TexDawg 119,797
Bigbob_FTW 95,336
John175☮ 85,918
Pilothawk 83,274
Bob Davis 82,391
Mark Perry 72,491
Derek 🐝 68,322
JDavis7873 67,416
Forum Statistics
Forums59
Topics1,038,921
Posts13,955,413
Members144,181
Most Online39,925
Dec 30th, 2023
Print Thread
Who's Fly-fishing from the bank around here? #6615819 09/10/11 01:48 PM
D
Don Morey Offline OP
TFF Celebrity
OP Offline
TFF Celebrity
D
I've seen a few of you from the Kayak but is anyone FF from the bank? I ask because I would like to do some more FF this year and I'm still a beginner wanting to get better.

Re: Who's Fly-fishing from the bank around here? [Re: Don Morey] #6615920 09/10/11 02:26 PM
Dfitz Offline
"Nice Guy"
"Nice Guy"
I do it, and here is some advice.

Start someplace where it's easy to cast like a pond. Learn to roll cast before going to creeks.

Trees, branches, bushes, leaves ect are notorious for catching your flies.

Beadheads and wolly buggers are good flies and will get you a variety of fish. Poppers lot of fun too. (Cicada, hopper, bee pattern)

I like a 3wt or 4wt rod between 7-8ft long. When you hook into a 4lb largemouth, and u will at some point doing this, well all i can say is good luck!

Use light line. Been places where they won't touch 8lb line, but 4lb gets hit every cast once you change your leader.

my $.02 Hope it helps and good luck!

Don't worry about the mule, just load the cart
[Linked Image]
Re: Who's Fly-fishing from the bank around here? [Re: Dfitz] #6615945 09/10/11 02:41 PM
R
Roofish Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
R
I do

CPHS TIMBERWOLVES 2012 4A DIV II TEXAS HS FOOTBALL CHAMPIONS 1ST EVER

NY YANKEES 27 WORLD SERIES CHAMPIONSHIPS

Re: Who's Fly-fishing from the bank around here? [Re: Don Morey] #6615973 09/10/11 03:01 PM
U