texasfishingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
CBSUGG, Mickey K, fuwfriend, Fishmatic, augiemo32
109510 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
TexDawg 90,325
hopalong 79,059
Pilothawk 77,784
John175® 70,238
JDavis7873® 67,393
Derek 🐝 61,833
Tritonman 58,485
Mark Perry 55,192
LoneStarSon® 54,907
facebook
Forum Statistics
Forums60
Topics739,957
Posts12,289,738
Members109,510
Most Online36,273
Jan 23rd, 2013
Print Thread
Page 2 of 107 1 2 3 4 106 107
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Jason Gilstrap] #6256333
06/02/11 11:57 PM
06/02/11 11:57 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 415
Lake Fork
H
H-D Dad Offline
Angler
H-D Dad  Offline
Angler
H

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 415
Lake Fork
Jason, thanks for all the help with the updates. No better way to get it, than have someone who knows what their doing, do it for you.


Wes
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: H-D Dad] #6267268
06/06/11 03:06 PM
06/06/11 03:06 PM
Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 802
Central Texas
D
duff1 Offline
Pro Angler
duff1  Offline
Pro Angler
D

Joined: Mar 2006
Posts: 802
Central Texas
So, if you're prospecting in 50 to 80 fow, what would be the appropriate range setting for side scan? Seems like the "auto" function wants to project the range too far to be able to see anything. Do you need to keep the bottom in view? Also, if you don't use the chart functions, are the 3.5 and 4.0 upgrades all that important?

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Jason Gilstrap] #6301433
06/16/11 05:24 AM
06/16/11 05:24 AM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 496
Irving, Texas
R
Robert Humphrey Offline
Angler
Robert Humphrey  Offline
Angler
R

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 496
Irving, Texas
Originally Posted By: Jason Gilstrap
The Elite 5 cannot do sonar logs, but it CAN take screen shots.
The latest update, 2.8, added screen shot capability.
(Insert writable microSD card and press “power” then “zoom +.”)


What about the Elite-5 DSI? Can it do sonar logs?


Robert Humphrey
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Robert Humphrey] #6304128
06/16/11 11:03 PM
06/16/11 11:03 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,269
Tulsa, OK
Jason Gilstrap Offline
Mr. Lowrance
Jason Gilstrap  Offline
Mr. Lowrance

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,269
Tulsa, OK
Originally Posted By: Robert Humphrey
Originally Posted By: Jason Gilstrap
The Elite 5 cannot do sonar logs, but it CAN take screen shots.
The latest update, 2.8, added screen shot capability.
(Insert writable microSD card and press “power” then “zoom +.”)


What about the Elite-5 DSI? Can it do sonar logs?


No it cannot do sonar logs, just screen shots.


Jason Gilstrap LOWRANCE PRO STAFF / Get A Limit Outdoors www.getalimitoutdoors.com
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: duff1] #6304150
06/16/11 11:11 PM
06/16/11 11:11 PM
Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 496
Irving, Texas
R
Robert Humphrey Offline
Angler
Robert Humphrey  Offline
Angler
R

Joined: Mar 2004
Posts: 496
Irving, Texas
Figures since i just put the last screw in the transducer mount. I know it was a specific question i asked the salesperson over the weekend and was told it would. Now to decide whether or not to uninstall it and take it back or just keep it.


Robert Humphrey
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Robert Humphrey] #6309534
06/18/11 04:50 PM
06/18/11 04:50 PM
Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,022
Kaufman County
B
Bluwave Mike Offline
TFF Team Angler
Bluwave Mike  Offline
TFF Team Angler
B

Joined: Jul 2003
Posts: 4,022
Kaufman County
Well I just went from a black and white Lowrance with no GPS to the new 8 inch with a 5 on the front. Going to put the boat in the water this afternoon. So I'm sure I will PM ing some of ya'll with questions. Good info here thank to all.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Bluwave Mike] #6336842
06/26/11 01:59 PM
06/26/11 01:59 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
B
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman
Bobby Feazel  Offline
Outdoorsman
B

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
There are approximately 57 submerged bridges on Toledo Bend. Our new HDS units with side scan is allowing us to see things that one could only imagine before. Over the coming months, we will be sharing what we log on these bridges. The following bridge is our first.

Side scan view:


Down scan view:


Close up, look at the big school of fish just above the roadbed.


Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Bobby Feazel] #6345917
06/28/11 11:21 PM
06/28/11 11:21 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
Pasadena, Texas
H
HappyHooker Offline
Angler
HappyHooker  Offline
Angler
H

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
Pasadena, Texas
Nice images Bobby. Went out the first time with my new unit Sunday and was a little discouraged at what I wasn't seeing. Stumps off to the right of the boat did not show up at all, but went under a bridge and the pilings showed up very well. I'm sure I've got some more tweaking to do and the first thing was to change the xducer type from unknown to HST-wsbl. One thing that worries me is I've heard the structure and sonar transducers need to be mounted less than a foot apart. The dealer installed mine about 18 inches. Hope this won't affect my image quality. Any tips on tweaking the settings to get a clearer image?


Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: HappyHooker] #6347199
06/29/11 12:03 PM
06/29/11 12:03 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
B
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman
Bobby Feazel  Offline
Outdoorsman
B

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
Happy

Like you, I was also discouraged my first couple of trips. Got to noticing that vertical objects had a slight curve to them. That can't be, so I got my digital level in the boat and measured the angle of the boat when traveling at 4-6 MPH. Got back on the trailor and adjusted the fore-to-aft angle of the side scan transducer so it would be level when moving at 4-6 MPH. Wow; big difference in image quality.

I don't think you will notice much difference with the transducers being 18" apart.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: Bobby Feazel] #6348686
06/29/11 07:06 PM
06/29/11 07:06 PM
Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,393
Boerne, Texas
G
grout-scout Online content
TFF Celebrity
grout-scout  Online Content
TFF Celebrity
G

Joined: Dec 2008
Posts: 7,393
Boerne, Texas
O.K fellas, Happy mentioned something I might need to know. Does the ducer have to be near the lss1? I was thinking of putting the lss1 on the jackplate and running it back there while I use trolling motor which has the US2 built in it. Please say it is not so.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: grout-scout] #6349586
06/29/11 10:56 PM
06/29/11 10:56 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
Pasadena, Texas
H
HappyHooker Offline
Angler
HappyHooker  Offline
Angler
H

Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 353
Pasadena, Texas
Bobby

Never thought of that. I'm going out tommorrow and I just happen to have a digital level. I'll take my reading, of course this will be done after the morning bite slows smile trailer her and adjust boat angle with trailer jack to match my reading and adjust ducer as needed. Thanks for the tip!

Scout

I've heard the ducers need to be mounted as close as possible to each other. From what Bobby posted it seems to me like the farther apart they are the lower your image quality will be. Someone step in and correct me if I'm wrong.


Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: HappyHooker] #6349674
06/29/11 11:22 PM
06/29/11 11:22 PM
Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,982
highland village/lake Lewisvil...
tgravley aka lewisvillecatfish Online content
TFF Guru
tgravley aka lewisvillecatfish  Online Content
TFF Guru

Joined: Feb 2009
Posts: 12,982
highland village/lake Lewisvil...
I believe they only need to be close if you use the overlay


I live with Fear everyday but sometimes she lets me go fishin
Lewisvillecatfish.com

PB 65#
www.lewisvillecatfish.com
Facebook.com/Tom Gravley
www.youtube.com/gravleybrats
Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: tgravley aka lewisvillecatfish] #6356520
07/01/11 07:25 PM
07/01/11 07:25 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
B
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman
Bobby Feazel  Offline
Outdoorsman
B

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
Happy, if I lead you to think that the location of the sonar transducer had an effect on image quality of the side scan/down scan, I am sorry, it has no effect. The LSS transducer is independent and will give perfectly good pictures even with the sonar transducer unplugged from the back of your unit.

The only way that one can notice a discrepancy between the sonar image and side scan/down scan image is when you place them both on the screen side by side. If the two transducers are very far apart then one might be able to tell that one is leading or lagging the other. Since the sonar return signal is conical and the side scan/down scan is linear then there will always be some discrepancy even if the two transducers were very close to each other.

Hope this helps.

Re: Lowrance SONAR [Re: tgravley aka lewisvillecatfish] #6356761
07/01/11 08:37 PM
07/01/11 08:37 PM
Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,201
wford / t-wok
trlrman Online content
Extreme Angler
trlrman  Online Content
Extreme Angler

Joined: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,201
wford / t-wok
Originally Posted By: tgravley aka stinkbait tom
I believe they only need to be close if you use the overlay
+1

Another Toledo Bend bridge [Re: trlrman] #6359324
07/02/11 09:11 PM
07/02/11 09:11 PM
Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
B
Bobby Feazel Offline
Outdoorsman
Bobby Feazel  Offline
Outdoorsman
B

Joined: Jul 2007
Posts: 227
Toledo Bend
I believe this was a temporaty wooden bridge used during the construction of Toledo Bend. One segment of the old concrete bridge is on the left.

Here it is again going in the opposite direction.


Same bridge in down scan.


Another image at 90 degrees. A magnum brushpile.


Down scan image at 90 degrees.


Page 2 of 107 1 2 3 4 106 107
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread


© 1998-2019 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
UBB.threads™ 7.6.2