Page 1 of 2 1 2
Freshwater Mussels? #4172464 11/20/09 08:21 PM
K
KMC Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
K
I posted the following request at the beginning of the year, but I figure it was ripe for a poke. I am still very much involved in my studies and would love to see any shells people might find in Wonderful Texas!!

Hello all,
I am a student studying American freshwater mussels. I live in Massachusetts where unfortunately there are not that many mussels to find. I am looking for people who come across the little (sometime not so little) buggers when outdoors. I would love anyone who finds the muskrat middens on the side of the rivers/lakes (or how ever they come across the mussels) to box up a bunch of paired fellas big and small and send them my way. I am only looking for dead/spent shells, not live ones. I collect and study and write about all the different species. I'm not concered about big or small, the more different ones the better. Anyone who would be able to help me with my studies by just picking up a bunch of the spent shells you find while fishing would be a HUGE help in my studies. I would certainly compensate you for your effort and of course pay for shipping too. I am primarily looking for matching pairs (not single valves) and ones that are not totally broken (they don't have to be absolutely perfect with no chips at all, but the cleaner with their natural "skin" the better). I've been trying to make contacts with people across the country that naturally run into mussels while out fishing or hiking that might be able to just pick up shells they come across without it being a big hassle for them. I can't thank enough anyone who would consider helping me with this project. You can contact me through this site or directly at kczaja@fas.harvard.edu. Thank You!!!!! And good fishing!!!
-Kevin

Re: Freshwater Mussels? [Re: KMC] #4173185 11/20/09 11:02 PM
S
spiny norman Offline
Extreme Angler
Extreme Angler
S